Oxford grads earn awards, scholarships

xford High School held its annual Senior Honors and Awards Program last week to present students of the Class of 2018 with their hard-earned awards and scholarships.

According to Principal Steve Wolf, the ceremony serves as an opportunity to recognize the hard work and dedication that students have put forth in their journey through high school.

“While our students receive many cords, stoles and medals during the ceremony, their recognition is more about the process of who they have become,” Wolf said. “We have an amazing graduating class of 2018, so I’m quite confident they will go on to experience much success in their lives. My only hope for them is that they find their passion and be fearless in the pursuit of reaching their goals.”

The stand-out students are listed below with their awards:

Department Awards

Mathematics: Brennan Burrows, Micah Dymond.

Science: Brennan Burrows, Annalise Cornell.

Social Studies: Rajat Kadian, Elizabeth Marshall.

World Language, Spanish: Sydney Brzezinski, Micah Dymond

World Language, American Sign Language: Faith Knop.

World Language, Chinese: Elizabeth Marshall.

Language Arts: Elizibeth Gonczar, Tiffani Ihrke, Maria Sobrino.

Performing Arts, Band: Jack Brodeur, Nadia Burgess, Trent Evans, Caitlin Ewald, Olivia Rapadas.

Performing Arts, Orchestra: Zachariah Smith.

Performing Arts, Theatre: Joshua Krol.

Fine Arts, Dance: Payton Kozlowski, Becca Wood.

Career Technical Education (CTE), Automotive Technology: Austin Hunter, Kyle Kalbfleisch.

CTE, Photography: Cullen Card.

CTE, I.T. and Web Design: Sydni Schwab.


Oxford American Legion Auxiliary: Morgan Abbott.

Oxford’s Women’s Club: Juliana Bonnetti, Brennan Burrows, Christian Cartner, Hanna Clark, Emily Garcia, Clayton Hill, Sarah Liford, Madison Pavliscak, McKenzie Smalstig, Emily Vican.

Gemini Plastics, Inc Scholarship: Alexandra Brown.

James “Jamie” Charles Scholarship: Sydney Brzezinski.

Oxford American Legion – AMVETS: Jessica Marie Campbell, Christian Cartner, Tanner Cartner.

Oxford American Legion – Auxiliary: Morgan Abbott.

Oxford American Legion – Walter Fraser Post 108: Sydney Brzezinski, Brennan Burrows, Jacob Donovan.

Oxford Education Association: Amber Soukup.

Oxford Lions Club: Brennan Burrows, Jordyn Zyngier.

The Lone Ranger Scholarship: Brennan Burrows.

Daniel Axford/Oxford Elementary School: Micah Dymond.

Pioneer State Mutual: Raquel Escamilla.

Lewis Wilson: Trent Evans.

Stephen J. Mobley: Christian Cartner, Clayton Hill, Austin Hunter, Kelly Sayers, Leah Vandecar, Emily Vican.

Devin Clark Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Kalbfleisch.

McDonald’s: Abbey Kwapis.

Oxford American Legion – Helen Smith Award: Abbey Kwapis.

Oxford Junior Wildcats – Cheerleader: Sarah Liford.

Oxford Junior Wildcats – Football: Jonathon Robb.

Oakland Career & Technical Educators Association: Elizabeth Marshall, Elle Wright.

Pay It Forward: Ben Nuss.

Rotary Club of Oxford: Kelly Sayers, Brennan Burrows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *